Kingsport City Schools

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Kingsport City Schools will be closed for Thanksgiving Break Nov. 22-24, 2017! Classes will resume on Nov. 27, 2017.

KCS Board of Education Announces 2017-18 Meeting/Work Session Dates

Published on June 29, 2017 at 3:35 p.m.

KINGSPORT, Tenn. – The Kingsport City Schools Board of Education has announced its slate of meeting dates for the 2017-18 school year located at the KCS Administrative Support Center, 400 Clinchfield Street, third floor – Tennessee Room, downtown Kingsport.

With few exceptions, the Board will hold regular monthly board meetings on the first Tuesday at 6 p.m. and regular monthly work sessions on the third Tuesday at 6 p.m. The meetings include a public comment period on agenda items. All meetings are open to the public and all are encouraged to attend.

BOE Regular Monthly Meetings (6 p.m.)

  • Thursday, July 6, 2017
  • Tuesday, August 22, 2017
  • Tuesday, September 5, 2017
  • Tuesday, October 3, 2017
  • Tuesday, November 7, 2017
  • Tuesday, December 5, 2017
  • Tuesday, January 9, 2018
  • Thursday, February 8, 2018
  • Tuesday, March 6, 2018
  • Tuesday, April 3, 2018
  • Tuesday, May 1, 2018
  • Tuesday, June 5, 2018

BOE Regular Monthly Work Sessions (6 p.m.)

  • Tuesday, July 18, 2017
  • Tuesday, September 19, 2017
  • Tuesday, October 24, 2017
  • Tuesday, January 23, 2018
  • Tuesday, February 20, 2018
  • Tuesday, March 27, 2018
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018
  • Tuesday, May 15, 2018

The Kingsport Board of Education is made up of five elected at-large, non-partisan members. Each member serves a four-year staggered term. Elections are held in May during odd numbered years. New Board of Education members are seated on July 1 of each election year.

For more information on the Kingsport Board of Education and a complete list of members, please visit k12k.com, Board Members.

Kingsport City Schools (KCS) is a public school district located in Kingsport, Tenn., serving students in Sullivan and Hawkins county. The district is comprised of 13 schools, including a Pre-K, eight elementary schools, two middle schools, one high school, a high school program of choice and an alternative learning program; with total enrollment over 7,500 students. The vision of Kingsport City Schools is to be, Student Focused … World Class.

KCS has been named the top school district in Tennessee as winner of the 2014 SCORE Prize District Award by the State Collaborative on Reforming Education (SCORE) and has earned the 2014 Achievement Award in the annual Excellence in Tennessee Recognition Program by the Tennessee Center for Performance Excellence (TNCPE).

For more information on KCS, visit k12k.com, listen live on WCSK 90.3 FM, The Voice of KCS, read our blog, We Are KCS, or call (423) 378.2100. We’re social too; follow us on Facebook (Kingsport City Schools), Twitter (@KCS_District) and check out our YouTube Channel (KPTSchools).

####