2023-24 Board of Education Meeting/Work Session Notes » BOE Meeting Notes - February 13, 2024

BOE Meeting Notes - February 13, 2024

The Kingsport City Schools Board of Education held its regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, February 13, 2024.  Several key items were discussed, including:
  • Recognition of the Dobyns-Bennett High School Unified Bowling Team for winning the 2024 State Championship;
  • Recognition of three D-B students for being named candidates in the 2024 United States Presidential Scholars Program;
  • Presentation and approval of KCS teachers eligible for tenure; and
  • Approval of a technology purchase agreement related to connections and its maintenance.

Meeting Audio and Livestream

Click here to view the livestream from tonight's meeting.
Detailed Meeting Notes


The Pledge of Allegiance was led this evening Teagan Presley.  Teagan is a Pre-K student at the Palmer Center and is the daughter of Jonae Poole and Travis Presley.


At tonight's meeting, the Board presented two recognitions:
  • Dr. Brandon Fletcher recognized the Dobyns-Bennett High School Unified Bowling Team for winning the 2024 Unified Bowling State Championship.
    • The championship took place on Friday, January 26, 2024 in Smyrna, TN.  
    • In the championship round, the team won 313-270 over Northwest High School in Clarksville, TN.  
    • The team is coached by Stephen and Michelle Baker.
    • In September, Kingsport City Schools and D-B announced the introduction of a Unified Athletics program.  The Unified Bowling team is the first team in the program.
  • Todd Golden recognized three Dobyns-Bennett High School seniors for being named as candidates in the 2024 United States Presidential Scholars Program: Mallori France, Sam Perdue, and Evelyn Yang.
    • Mallori, Sam, and Evelyn have been named among 5,000 candidates and will compete with top high school students nominated across the country.  Mallori is the daughter of Derrick and Kelli France.  Sam is the son of Greg and Cynthia Perdue.  Evelyn Yang is the daughter of Edward Yang and Jennifer Wang.
    • Established in 1964 by executive order of the President, the program recognizes and honors the nation's most distinguished graduating seniors for their accomplishments in academic success, leadership, and service to school and community.  In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrated exceptional talent in the visual, creative, and performing arts.  In 2015, the program was expanded once again to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical fields.  Annually, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students. 

business items

Jennifer Guthrie, Chief Human Resources Officer, presented 21 KCS educators who have meet the requirements for tenure pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-5-503 at the end of the 2022-23 school year due to their length of service and Level of Overall Effectiveness (LOE) scores.  
  • The teachers recommended for tenure are as follows:
    • Melanie Phillips, Palmer Center
    • Alexandria Mohler, Adams Elementary
    • Mary Ritz, Adams Elementary
    • Sarah Henderson, Adams Elementary - Speech
    • Katie Helvey, Jefferson Elementary
    • Marie Taylor, Johnson Elementary
    • Emily Quillen, Kennedy Elementary
    • Jennifer Fielden, Kennedy Elementary
    • Kristen Davis, Kennedy Elementary
    • Katie Meade, Lincoln Elementary
    • Trevor Brooks, Lincoln Elementary
    • Sarah Pike, Lincoln Elementary
    • Jennifer Roberts, Roosevelt Elementary
    • Hannah Perry, Washington Elementary
    • Emily Hyler, Washington Elementary
    • Emily Ervin, Washington Elementary
    • Mollie Ramsey (Nuckles), Robinson Middle
    • Vicki Treadway, Robinson Middle
    • Olivia Guntrum (Blair), Dobyns-Bennett High
    • Jason Jones, Dobyns-Bennett High
    • Chris Thacker, Dobyns-Bennett High
  • After review, the Board approved tenure for the presented teachers by a vote of 5-0.
Andy Arnold, Chief Technology Officer, presented an agreement to purchase internal technology connections and basic maintenance of those connections for FY 2024-2025.
  • The purchase would utilize the Tennessee Educational Broadband Consortium State Master Contract 68613 with Personal Computers Systems, Inc.   
  • The agreement would be contingent upon receiving E-Rate funding, Board of Education approval, and Board of Mayor and Aldermen approval.
  • After review, the Board approved the agreement by a vote of 5-0.
The next session of the Board of Education will be a work session on Tuesday, February 27, 2024 at 6 p.m.  The work session will take place in the Tennessee Room of the Administrative Support Center (400 Clinchfield Street).
KCS has been ranked the "#1 Best Place to Teach in Tennessee" by the 2023 NICHE Best Schools Ranking and the City of Kingsport has been voted as the "Nicest Places in America" in the October 2022 Reader's Digest.
For more information visit www.k12k.com, listen live on WCSK 90.3 FM, The Voice of KCS, or call the KCS Administrative Support Center at (423) 378.2100. We’re social too; follow us on Facebook (kcsdistrict), Instagram (kcs__district), Twitter (@kcs__district), LinkedIn (kcsdistrict), and check out our YouTube Channel (@kcs__district).