BOE Meeting Notes - November 13, 2018

The Kingsport City Schools Board of Education held its regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, November 13, 2018. Several key items were discussed, including:
  • An update on the use of Naviance, a comprehensive college and career readiness program;
  • Recognition of Dobyns-Bennett students that have earned the distinction of "Commended Students" in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program;
  • Recognition of D-B Seniors named as National Merit Semi-finalists;
  • Recognition of a donation from American Electric Power supporting KCS robotics and LEGO League teams through STREAMWORKS;
  • A special recognition for Dr. Dwain Arnold; and
  • Approval to award a bid for the field replacement in J. Fred Johnson Stadium. 
Meeting Audio
Detailed Meeting Notes


The Pledge of Allegiance was led this evening by Easton Leedy, Knox Morris, and Madilynn Winningham.  Easton, Knox, and Madilynn are pre-k students at the Palmer Center.  Easton is the son of Ryan and Hunter Leedy.  Knox is the son of Kara Robbins and Wesley Morris.  Madilynn is the daughter of Brandon and Brittany Willingham.  

Community Interest Report

KCS Chief Academic Officer - Secondary Dr. Brian Cinnamon and D-B Assistant Principal Beth Cohen provided an update on the use of Naviance throughout KCS.
  • Naviance is a comprehensive college and career readiness online solution that assists districts and schools in aligning student strengths and interests to post-secondary goals.
  • The desired goal of the use of Naviance is to improve student outcomes and connecting learning to real life.  
  • Students in grades 6-12 utilize the Naviance curriculum through a blended learning experiences on their 1:1 devices.


Board member Mrs. Susan Lodal recognized ten D-B seniors who have been named Commended Students in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program.
  • The program helps identify the top high school students in the U.S..
  • About 34,000 students in the U.S. were named Commended Students, placing them in the top 3% of more than 1.6 million students nationwide.
  • Students entered the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).
  • The D-B Commended Students are:
    • Ian Boldea, son of Melania Bochis and Lucian Boldea.
    • Jason Carter, son of David and Danette Carter.
    • Annika Cleven, daughter of Curtis and Detra Cleven.
    • Hallie Elsevier, daughter of Brian Elsevier.
    • David Lee, son of Brandon and Chrese Lee.
    • Susan Mahaffey, daughter of Paul and Dixie Mahaffey.
    • Abigail Nash, daughter of Jim and Joanna Nash.
    • James Root, son of James and Lisa Root.
    • Katerina Scott, daughter of Terry and Jesnena Scott.
    • Amilia Spell, daughter of Steven and Suzanne Spell.
Board President Mrs. Carrie Upshaw recognized seven D-B seniors who have been named semi-finalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program.
  • These students will compete with the top high school students in the nation for approximately 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth approximately $32 million.
  • Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference. 
  • Approximately 16,000 U.S. students qualified as semi-finalists.
  • About 90 percent of the semi-finalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and more than half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.
  • The D-B National Merit Semi-Finalists are:
    • Matthew Barnicki, son of Scott and Brenda Barnicki.
    • Brogan Beckner, son of James and Sherry Beckner.
    • Julian Chastain, son of Jerry and Karen Chastain.
    • Nikhil (Nic) Chatra, son of Ashok and Shubha Chatra.
    • Allison Glynn, daughter of Theodore and Bethanie Glynn.
    • Rachel Rivera, daughter of Estuardo and Tamara Rivera.
    • Grant Wilkins, son of Michael and Elizabeth Wilkins.
Mrs. Upshaw reconginzed American Electric Power for their donation to Kingsport City Schools to support robotics and LEGO League teams through STREAMWORKS.
  • The donated funds will provide a portion of the resources necessary for KCS students to participate in these engaging STREAM programs.
In a special recognition, Mrs. Upshaw presented Dr. Dwain Arnold with a bobble head to thank him for his long service to KCS and his leadership as KCS Interim Superintendent during the administrative transition last winter.
  • Dr. Arnold served as the interim superintendent between the tenure of Dr. Lyle Ailshie and the hiring of KCS Superintendent Dr. Jeff Moorhouse.


The Board considered a proposal to approve a bid for the replacement of the field surface of J. Fred Johnson Stadium.
  • In use for over a decade, the artificial surface of the stadium is slated for replacement, as it has met the end of its expected lifespan.
  • Four bids were received for the turf replacement, with the winning low bid submitted by FieldTurf USA.
    • FieldTurfUSA's base bid of $756,045 was the lowest submitted bid.  
    • Three alternates were also presented for approval, along with a 6% allowance for architect fees and a standard 6% contingency (as is standard for all city construction contracts).
  • After review and discussion, the Board approved the bid by FieldTurfUSA by a vote of 5-0.
    • Per the bid, the project is scheduled for completion by February 11, 2019.
The next meeting of the Board of Education will be a work session on Tuesday, November 27, 2018 at 6 p.m.  The work session will take place in the Tennessee Room of the Administrative Support Center (400 Clinchfield Street).
Read and follow our blog, "We Are KCS" to learn more about the great people and programs of Kingsport City Schools. Check it out at